I Will Never Accomplish Anything on Sunday Again

Well I did laundry, so I suppose that’s productive, right? And I may have been (momentarily) outsmarted by my washing machine. For those of you who didn’t know, Spainards don’t believe in dryers. At all. So my clothing is currently hanging on a drying rack in my bedroom, and I’ll hopefully have dry underwear sometime next Tuesday.

Last night was super-fun, though very low key. We went wandering in search of cheap cervezas and found drunk Gallegos and Spaniards. The former were prancing around the plaza, pretending toilet brushes were microphones and “interviewing” people about their favorite foods. The Spaniards, who decided that “befriending” a group of American girls was an excellent game plan, spend a great deal of time trying to convince us that one of them was a famous DJ from Madrid–ha. They also decided that making a huge mess by smacking their beer bottles together was an excellent idea, and would definitely NOT get us thrown out of a bar. We wandered to the basement and listened to some gallegos jam (it involved flutes and bagpipes, hells yeah).

I seriously spent the entire afternoon today lounging around Santiago, taking pictures and drinking coffee, journalling a bit and enjoying the Cathedral again. I don’t know what I’ll do with myself when the nice weather stops; I walk EVERYWHERE in this town. So much that my cheap American shoes are falling apart–already!

Leave a Reply

