What the Hell is an Oil Gland?! (Thanksgiving in España)

Courtesy of my amazing friends here in Galicia, I managed to have an awesome Thanksgiving dinner. There was turkey, stuffing, massive amounts of potatoes, cranberry sauces, and a million other types of food that I am too lazy to list off.

Thanksgiving in Spain started on Thursday night for me. Fabian and I decided that a pumpkin pie was in order, specifically a home-made one (this choice has less to do with my from-scratch cooking obsession and more to do with the reality that canned pumpkin does not exist in España). The pie-making was fun, as we did not have a measuring cup. Yay for cooking by guesswork! In other news, we consumed 2 bottles of wine between us, all before heading off to the octopus restaurant.

For those of you who don´t know much about Galicia, octopus is amazingly yummy! They cover it in oil and spices before giving it to me to be devoured. At the restaurant, Fabian and I proceeded to share “interesting facts” about octopuses with our friends, mostly in hopes of grossing them out so we could eat their share of the pulpo. “Did you know that octopuses can see with their skin? And they have brain cells in their tentacles too.”

Come Friday, Thanksgiving began in ernest. Luckily, I was working until 3:30 and therefore didn´t have to help cook the turkey. Fun fact: the turkey itself was procured at the outdoor market. And apparently it didn’t come with a head (gobble gobble), but did have the tail still attached, including some feathers and what is apparently known as an oil gland. Second hand information tells me that Tom the Turkey was scrubbed, de-organed, and brined before being stuffed into the oven. All I know is, he was yummy!

Thanksgiving dinner preparation consisted of me hauling a baking sheet across town, lurking in the kitchen and being thrown out every few minutes, and drinking wine while talking to my friends. Yay!

And the dinner itself, yum yum, followed by the typical Thanksgiving pain: Why did I eat so much?

Leave a Reply

