So. Much. Beer. Spring Break pt II

Now, I must foreground this post with an expression of appreciation for my awesome host Paul. True, Munich is epic in its own right, but he easily made my trip ten times better. Plus he has a French press!

So, I touched down in Munich to discover that Ryanair’s lying schedules are annoying. Specifically the fact that I’d been scheduled to touch down at 5:00 and it was 4:30. I had half an hour to wait in the ass-end of nowhere, Bavaria, until my ride got there. However, I am very experienced at waiting because my method of travel requires it (broke-as-fuck eurotripping, that is). My ride was the aforementioned awesome Paul, who’d volunteered to drive out to the Ryanair “Munich” airport and pick me up. Now, understand the depth of his niceness: the Ryanairport for Munich is about 100 km outside of the city. And, on the ride back into Munich, we stopped by an old abbey/brewery. Apparently the monks used to make awesome beer, back in the 14th century! And yeah, it was delicious 🙂

Upon arriving in Munich (post beer-drinking), we went downtown to visit the Hofbrauhaus, which is a giant beer hall in the city. Aside from the giant delicious beers I drank (not pictured, because I was otherwise occupied and didn’t get my camera out), the place itself is phenomenal! Also, there’s a Bavarian tradition in the bars of sitting with random people and making new (drunk) friends. Seriously, you just find a table with a couple empty places and sit your ass down, chatting in whichever language they speak (English is almost always spoken by Germans, lucky for me). So on my first night in Germany I drank a ton of beers, met some random Germans, and ended up in the gayest part of Munich, think Madrid’s Chueca (or CC’s in Portland). Apparently the bars are great, who’d have guessed?

The following day, I bummed around and visited a modern art museum. Of course, I also bought a bunch of new clothes, because I am not as cultured as all that, and giggled about the abundance of Bavarian costumes in the shop windows. Now, I am as culturally sensitive as the next person (which means I get drunk and laugh at stereotypes), but something about lederhosen just makes me want to point and laugh. However, I was told that I could pull off the girls’ version of the costume. Considering it consists of a cleavage-creating top, corset, and a poufy skirt, I’ll take that as a compliment, I think…

Continuing my tradition of enjoying German beers, that night I tagged along with Paul to his friends’ place, where we drank wines and beers before heading downtown on the Metro.

Night #2 was similar to the first, meaning that I drank beers and made new friends. Also drank Jegermeister, which is a dangerous thing for me as it usually causes fun adventures (here and here). However, no one died and I made it back to my couch alive.

The next morning, Yulia the Russian and I went park exploring in Munich. We also climbed a giant church tower, went shopping again (I bought a wallet, but no purse), and drank loads of coffee. That evening saw Yulia run frantically all over the city to make it to her concert on time, and saw me missing my train to Nuremberg. Yeah, yeah, mock away. Sadly, I never did get to explore that city, because the following morning, bright and early (sort of ) I ran off to play catch up to my 2nd train, which would drop me off in Frankfurt!

To Be Continued…

Leave a Reply

