Leaving Santiago

So, while Eurotripping this time around, I’m without my beloved computer: because it’s heavy, takes up space (bad considerations when you fly RyanAir), and is something else to have damaged or stolen. However this means that I’m Internetless much more often then I’d like to be. Hostels sometimes ahve computers up for grabs. Key word: sometimes. So, I now have a weird posting schedule. Also, no pics for a while.

On June 2nd I left Santiago for the summer. Instead of boring you with a eulogy on my amazing home/not-home and how much I’ll miss it, I’ll just say that we had a week of going-away parties! My flat was stuffed with over 30 people, all crammed into the kitchen. We also had a designated smoking room (the closet sized laundry room) and a bunch of my home-made Kahlua to fuel the festivities. We naturally went to all our favorite bars for one last hurrah and tried to keep Katie from crying about how much she was going to miss everyone 🙂

I then spent 2 days cleaning and packing, and drinking coffee and not packing. Now, I have most of my possessions boxed up and sitting under Raquel’s desk–only keeping the small bunch of clothes and random junk I need for a month of traveling. The current pack isn’t purple, but it does comforably hold all my shit–thanks Quila!

I hopped a plane from Santiago to Madrid with minimal mishaps and backpack in tow, spent the day sweating in the oven that’s Madrid. Now, I was waiting to hear back from my friend Christian about crashing on his couch, which meant I spent the majority of the day with my backpack, waiting, hiding in parks and generally being annoyed that I was carrying my crap around. And I got hotter and more tired with no word from him…Eventually about 9 pm I gave up and headed to a hostel. And this is where it gets fun, because I have great timing. See, the moment I set my pack down in the room I’d booked for the night Christian texted me! Apparently he’d accidentally given me the wrong number and I’d been sending messages to no one the entire day.
Now, I prefer couches to hostels, so I set about trying to get my money back from the hostel and move onto Christian’s place. Luckily, I looked as tired and frazzled as I felt, and I barely said two words to the guy at the desk before he was nodding and promising me that everything would be fine. Sweet!
And then I promptly spent the 16E I would have spent on the hostel on Madrid street beers.

For those of you who haven’t spent time in Madrid, the streets are full of vendors. After dark, those vendors start selling cans of ice cold beer for 1E. During the summer months, half of your ‘going out’ time will be spent on a street corner, downing cheap Spanish beer, watching the mimes (hired by annoyed citizens to comically shush the drunk assholes under their respective windows), or the little Asian ladies threatening the Indian guys who enroach on their beer-selling turf.

Then, on Monday morning at some ungodly hour, I rode the train into Barajas Airport and collected Rachael, beginning our two days of enduring the Madrid heat, lounging in parks. We also attempted to sleep in the airport before our 6 am Paris flight, which was an epic fail. Don’t sleep there: the floors are hard and they constantly make annoying announcements.

Paris was it’s own adventure, but I’m about to bump up to the next cost bracket at the internet cafe, so caio for now!

2 thoughts on “Leaving Santiago

Leave a Reply

