But I Don’t Want a Real Job: Why I Came Back

As of September 21st, I began my second year in Santiago de Compostela, thereby avoiding getting a “real job” or even permanent residence in the USA. Why? Well, that’s a bit complicated…

I came back because my Spanish is functional, but not on level with any native speaker’s. I want to be able to sound less like a foreigner who can converse comfortably, and more like a person who speaks with a slight accent. I want to be able to use the subjunctives and conditionals without hesitation. I want to stop tripping over certain consonant combinations; I also want to stop making sounds in the back of my mouth when I need to use the front.

I came back because I love teaching but am not ready to commit to getting an actual teaching degree. I don’t know if I want to be a full-time teacher in America. I’m hesitant about committing to a career where I won’t have a ton of job security, or income security, or general respect from the population, yet will be expected to work miracles with the few resources that I have. So I’m taking another year (maybe more) to decide if this is something I really want to pursue.

I came back because my pain in the ass students are improving, some of them greatly, and I want to be a part of that again. Yeah, they’re still a bunch of lazy buttheads, but I can see their English improving by leaps and bounds. I feel like I’m actually making a difference here, and I want to see what I can do after another year.

I came back because there’s still more countries to visit and adventures to be had.

I came back because I empathetically do not want to be floating around in Portland, working boring jobs and trying to figure out what I’m doing with my post-college life. There are too many fun ways to spend my 20’s and living abroad is easily a better choice than letting time slip past me as I try to figure my life out. Oh and I’m also not ready to go to grad school.

And finally, I came back because I have friends here. I have bartenders who know me by name, bank tellers who can help me when the ATM tells me to go fuck myself (metaphorically, usually). There’s a park with an excellent view of ancient buildings, a 4-story library, and way too many bagpipes. Plus one medieval cathedral that I love walking through on my way to work.

Really, why wouldn’t I come back?

2 thoughts on “But I Don’t Want a Real Job: Why I Came Back

  1. Hi, fellow 2nd-year Galicia auxiliar here! Equally glad to be back for another go at this.

    I feel exactly the same way you do about committing to teaching in the US…I love teaching, but doing it in the US would just not be as fun as doing it here, I think. I’m just trying to find a way to keep doing basically this for as long as possible!

    And I also feel you on the certain consonant combinations thing–dr, tr, rr…they trip me up every time.

  2. That pretty much sounds like why I’m extending my stay in Spain too. If I don’t have my life figured out quite yet, why not do it somewhere interesting and new?

    Good luck in your upcoming year in Santiago de Compostela!

Leave a Reply

