Public Buses in Tiny Spanish Villages

Today my airheadedness cost me 4€ bus fare, woo! On the plus side, it also got me another glimpse of Galician country life. It all began when I forgot that my usual ride home from my work is out sick. Yeah…I didn’t remember until I was standing in the parking lot like an idiot. And of course, on Monday absolutely no one else was going back to Santiago. So Jeannette, time to find out if there’s bus!
Because this is Spain, there was no schedule online. Goody, I thought. However I was pretty sure that there was a bus around 2:30. So off I waltzed through the shockingly sunny fields of Cruces to test my luck. Now, Cruces has a population of about 2,000 people and no bus station, nor marked bus stop. Lucky for me, I vaguely remembered on what street the bus stopped (1/4 odds aren’t bad either). And then a bus rolled up!
I headed over and was promptly stopped by a friendly Galician man informing me that the Santiago bus would be by in 5 minutes, that I could buy my ticket from the driver, and that I was on the wrong side of the street. All this before I’d said a word! He then asked who I was–because any unfamiliar face in Cruces is newsworthy, least of all one attached to an American accent. Which led to a 10 minute conversation about my job and life in Galicia.
The bus itself takes about 75 minutes to get to Santiago–mostly because the driver will stop for anyone, anywhere. Yeah, I watch one man step right out of a bar and wave at the bus–which resulted in the driver slamming on the brakes in the middle of the road.
Most people seem to wait at an obvious stop/slow down point. Also, I’m pretty sure I’m the only one who the driver didn’t know by name. Actually, I’m pretty sure I’m the only one whose parents, grandparents, and total history was not known by the driver.

Leave a Reply

