Update! Now with Less Hair!

So, I’ve been in Portland for close to a year now–GOD, who would have thought I’d stick around this long? And here’s where I’m at:

South Korea
I’m applying for teaching jobs in South Korea. I need to get abroad again, teach again, and have a bigger adventure than last time! Ergo, I need to go work and live in a continent I’ve never set foot on, where I’ll stick out like a sore thumb. Also, I don’t speak a single, damned word of Korean.
Sound like fun!

Graduate School
I got into a Master’s program in Portland. But, I decided to defer so that I could travel and work some more, and also give myself some time to think if going back to school is what I REALLY want. We shall see.

American Job
I still love my job here, but I might be getting laid off. Well basically–being cut back to 15 hours/week is essentially a lay-off. It’s been a really good kick in the ass, getting me out of my complacency and reminding me that I do want to adventure some more.
I’m not too freaked out. Honestly, I’m Jeannette and I’m awesome. I can survive anything and make rent somehow while I job hunt.
I’m less than thrilled about having to simultaneously job hunt and go through the circus of getting a visa for Korea, but well that’s life.

My Hair
I cut my hair off! It’s the shortest I’ve ever had it and I love it. However, I do need to grow it back out by this winter, as I sincerely doubt Korean hair stylists have a freaking clue how to cut curly hair.
I have included a picture of me and my hair, my sister and my mom at the Country Fair!

My family at Oregon Country Fair
My family at Oregon Country Fair
One thought on “Update! Now with Less Hair!

Leave a Reply

